Our supporters & partners

Our Supporters

FDSD’s work arose from an endowment given to the Environment Foundation (the forerunner of FDSD) in the 1980s by the international insurance industry. We have supplemented this resource with individual grants.

FDSD has been awarded three-year grants to support core organisational funding by the Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust (2011-2013) and the Tedworth Trust (2012-2014).

We were also awarded a ‘Future of Humanity’ grant by Foundation for the Future for a two-year research project on The Future of Democracy in the Face of Climate Change to 2100.

The Esmée Fairburn Foundation supported an event on Democracy and Sustainability. The Pacific Institute and International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED) provided project-based grants for our work The ISO 26000 international guidance standard on social responsibility: implications for public policy and transnational democracy. And WWF-UK and the World Future Council funded research for a proposal to establish a UN High Commissioner for Future Generations.

Many thanks to all our funders for their support.

Our Partners

Partnerships are central to our work.

Since 2009, we have worked with:

Capacity Global; Club de Madrid, Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity, Involve, Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 21st Century Trust; The Dana Centre; Salzburg Global Seminar; UK Environmental Law Association; The Office of the Hungarian Parliamentary Commissioner for Future Generations; Schumacher College; WWF-UK; Pacific Institute; International Institute for Environment and Development; Chatham House; UK Youth Climate Coalition; UNICEF-UK; Goodenough College; Intergenerational Foundation; Alliance for Future Generations.


We would also like to acknowledge the work of a number of other friends and collaborators who helped to launch our work on democracy and sustainable development. They include Keith Burgess, Tom Burke, Lucy and Sir Geoffrey Chandler, Ian Christie, Dawn Emling, Sam Lakha, Tim O’Riordan, Sara Parkin, Mike Shanahan and Tim Smit.